Wednesday 28 February 2024
Salisbury Foundation Trust

Stages of Labour

Labour is split up into four main stages. Please click on the videos and dropdowns to learn more.


Video: The early stages of labour

Video: The first hour after birth

Video: Established or active labour

Latent stage (early phase)
First stage (active phase)
Second stage (pushing & delivery)
Third stage (delivery of placenta)

Our staff at Salisbury District Hospital have long been well regarded for the quality of care and treatment they provide for our patients and for their innovation, commitment and professionalism. This has been recognised in a wide range of achievements and it is reflected in our award of NHS Foundation Trust status. This is afforded to hospitals that provide the highest standards of care.

Person Centred & Safe





Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust, Salisbury District Hospital, Odstock Road, Salisbury, Wiltshire, SP2 8BJ
T: 01722 336262 E:
© 2024 Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust
Trust Values